For detailed instructions on how to search within particular database interfaces, go to Citation Searching by Database Interface. Below is a list of Pace databases and free databases that offer citation searching.
Nursing and Medicine
A citation search is a search for other articles that have made reference to a particular book, article, or author. Suppose you have published an article in a scholarly journal. Many people have read this article and cited it in their own scholarship. A citation search will show you who has mentioned your article, where, and how many times.
A citation index provides bibliographic information to help you locate citing articles. It may or may not provide links to the full text of the citing articles.
Who uses citation searches, and why?
No single citation search will be totally comprehensive. This is because no single database has access to all journals and publications. Therefore, any thorough citation search should always involve more than one citation search service.
The two major interdisciplinary citation-searching databases are Web of Science, from Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson-Reuters), and Scopus, from Elsevier. Pace University does not currently offer access to either.
Web of Science is a citation analysis database of peer-reviewed literature owned by ThomsonISI and is composed of the following indexes:
It is important to remember that when Web of Science counts citations, it is only counting citations from a set of roughly 7,500 primarily English-language journals indexed by ThomsonISI.
Scopus is a citation analysis database of peer-reviewed literature owned by Elsevier and covers the following disciplines:
When Scopus counts citations, it is only counting citations from articles indexed in the Scopus database.
It is important to remember that Scopus was only released in 2004 and citation tracking is only available for articles published between 1996 and the present.