Library: Education, Teaching and Action Research: Databases and Online Research

Best Education Databases

Pace Library subscribes to 204 databases and many are full-text. Databases that include peer-reviewed articles in the field of Education are:

ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books published in the U.S. and elsewhere, covering education topics including administration, teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, government funding, and more.
Years covered: 1983-present (journals); 1995-present (books).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Citations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Years covered: 1847-present. Note: We subscribe to full-text for 1999-present on select titles only.

Google Scholar and Peer-Reviewed Articles

The best way to know if a journal found in Google Scholar is peer reviewed is to follow these steps:

1. Note the name of the journal from the citation. 2. Type the name "in quotes," into the regular version of Google in order to find that journal's homepage. TIP: Journals typically state the fact that they are "peer reviewed" (also known as “refereed” or “juried” or "blind reviewed." If, in the description, none of those words are used then you can be sure it is not "peer reviewed."

Proper APA Citations . . . how to?

Creating proper APA citations can be challenging but there are lots of ways to get help.

Excelsior Online Writing Lab
Here you’ll find extensive support for APA, MLA, and Chicago documentation styles.
Citation Generator
Google Scholar
See the video below. As with all citations generated by computer, check the citation carefully before putting it in your bibliography.

Citation management software is also very helpful for saving and managing all your references, and generating formatted citations in thousands of different styles. I highly recommend choosing a citation management software and getting familiar with it, especially if you plan to continue research and publication after graduation. The library recommends either EndNote or Zotero.

EndNote can be downloaded for free from the link below. Once you graduate you will have to buy updates to the software.

Free Software Downloads from Pace
Pace students can download the EndNote, the Microsoft Office Suite, and more
Zotero
Free, open-source citation management software.

Using Zotero
by Jessica Kiebler Last Updated Oct 21, 2024 154 views this year
EndNote: Using EndNote with Library Databases
by Jessica Kiebler Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 1467 views this year

Looking for a Dissertation? ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from the U.S. and Canada.
Any dissertation that is not available fulltext can be requested by current Pace University students, faculty and staff through Interlibrary Loan. In some cases, a fee may be required. For details, see http://libguides.pace.edu/c.php?g=63893&p=410310

Education, Teaching and Action Research

Inter-Library Loan ( or how to get any article for free)

Finding the full text of articles you found online

Best Education Databases

Google Scholar and Peer-Reviewed Articles

Proper APA Citations . . . how to?

Looking for a Dissertation? ProQuest Dissertations & Theses