American Fact FinderAmerican FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
GSS: General Social Survey"The GSS has been a reliable source of data to help researchers, students, and journalists monitor and explain trends in American behaviors, demographics, and opinions. You'll find the complete GSS data set on this site, and can access the GSS Data Explorer to explore, analyze, extract, and share custom sets of GSS data."
Office of Immigration Statistics, Department of Homeland Security"Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components."
CIA World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
UN Data"UNdata is the brainchild of UNSD, the statistical arm of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs and the coordinator of statistical activities throughout the UN System. UNSD's core mission is to advance the development of the global statistical system and promote the dissemination of statistical information. This database service is part of a project launched by UNSD in 2005, called "Statistics as a Public Good", whose objectives are to provide free access to global statistics, to educate users about the importance of statistics for evidence-based policy and decision-making and to assist National Statistical Offices of Member Countries to strengthen their data dissemination capabilities. The project is implemented in partnership with Statistics Sweden and the Gapminder Foundation with partial financial support from the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA). "
Gender Data Portal: World Data Bank"The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency. "
Women's Bureau: United States Department of Labor"Women in the workforce are vital to the nation's economic security. The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments. "
United States Bureau of Economic Analysis"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
ESCAP Data CentreStatistical database of ESCAP (Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific). Includes population, health, education, labor, infrastructure, finance, trade, environment, gender, and other statistics.
International Labor Organization: Statistics and DatabasesCollection of statistics and databases compiled by the International Labour Organization: core labour statistics, country-level data, child labour statistics, occupational health and safety, conventions and recommendations documents, reference literature, and labour legislation.
Office on Women's Health: U.S. Department of Health & Human Services"The Office on Women's Health achieves its mission through a wide range of programs and activities. The Office also leads several groups and committees to coordinate efforts for women's health within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), as well as with other federal agencies."
State Health Facts: Women's HealthIncludes data about women's health-related Medicaid information, state insurance mandates, refusal clauses, emergency contraception policies, abortion policies and statistics, and mammogram and pap smear screening.
Women's Health Research: FDA"The FDA Office of Women's Health (OWH) promotes and conducts research initiatives that facilitate FDA regulatory decision-making and advance the understanding of sex differences and health conditions unique to women."
The Data Visualisation Catalogue gives you more information on how to format, display, and share your data. Search by function to learn more about the ways you display your data have an impact on your research:
This site from the Commission on the Status of Women provides a five-year review, ten-year review, and beyond of the Beijing Platform for Action (1995). It also discusses the implementation for this plan.
"This annual report presents the most comprehensive global assessment of progress to date, based on data provided by a large number of international organizations within and outside the United Nations system. The aggregate figures in the report provide an overview of regional progress under the eight goals and are a convenient way to track advances over time. The report is coordinated and published by the Statistics Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs."
"The Annual Report documents UN Women’s work to foster women’s empowerment and gender equality around the world. It highlights some of the organization’s initiatives during the year and provides summary financial statements, a list of new programmes and projects, and contact information."
"Re:Gender, formerly National Council for Research on Women, was established in 1981 by a group of feminist researchers who were looking to connect their similar organizations and promote research by and about women. With Mariam K. Chamberlain as the founding president, they created a membership organization that served as a clearinghouse to facilitate collaboration among researchers and share information with the general public."
"The Wellesley Centers for Women at Wellesley College is one of the largest gender-focused research-and-action organizations in the world. Scholars at the Centers conduct social science research and evaluation, develop theory and publications, and implement training programs on issues that put women’s lives and women’s concerns at the center. Since 1974, our work has generated changes in attitudes, practices, and public policy."