Skip to main content

What Can You Do with EndNote?

EndNote is reference management software with features to—

  • Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
  • Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)

  • Share your references with collaborators through EndNote sync.

  • Use your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.

General Safety Notes

  • EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .data folder. These two parts must be kept together, both are needed for the library to work correctly.

  • EndNote libraries should be kept on your computer's hard drive. Storing and editing libraries on a network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.

  • EndNote libraries should never be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as DropBox, OneDrive, Box, SugarSync, etc. Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time.

Using persistent links/stable URLs with Pace Library resources

in order for you to be able to access articles that are linked to in the URL field in EndNote from off campus, add the following before the persistent link:   http://rlib.pace.edu/login?url=

We have a tool to help you create a persistent URL that will work from off-campus; follow this link:

http://www.pace.edu/library/library-services/faculty-resources/persistent-links-and-stable-urls/

Note: Even though the persistent link builder tool says it is for Blackboard, it will also work for URLs in EndNote. When including a URL in your APA formatted bibliography, you will need to remove the http://rlib.pace.edu/login?url=  prefix

Please Note:

The instructions in this LibGuide are for Windows PC users. Features may work slightly different depending on which browser you use. Most of them will work the same on a Mac, however, you may encounter differences when exporting into EndNote from some databases.

EndNote X8 user guides for WINDOWS and MAC are available at:

http://download.endnote.com/training/Little%20Book/EndNote_X8_Guided_Tour-Windows.pdf

http://download.endnote.com/training/Little%20Book/EndNote_X8_Guided_Tour-Mac.pdf

There are also many excellent training videos available from the EndNote site at:

http://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/x8_videos_by_language

 

Printable guides and training videos for Endnote X9 are not yet available 

Using EndNote Output Styles

  • Styles represent the rules for creating bibliographies for a variety of journals and other publication formats, including MLA, APA and Vancouver
  • Styles determine how your references look when you create bibliographies
  • To select an Output Style or to see the rules for a particular Output Style:
    • From the Edit menu, choose Output Styles and select Open Style Manager       
    • From the list of Output styles, check the box next to the one you need

Exporting Reference Data into EndNote

Many library databases include an option to export records directly to EndNote without having to save the records and then import them.  See tabs above for instructions for specific databases/interfaces.

Importing Reference Data into EndNote

  • Use import filters to import text files saved or downloaded from select bibliographic databases
  • EndNote provides instructions on how to download data from specific databases and/or interfaces in the correct output format
  • EndNote includes hundreds of import filters each designed to read a specific tagged format from a specific information provider
  • To see if EndNote has an import filter for the database or interface you are using, choose Import Filters from the Edit menu, and then select Open Filter Manager...
  • When you find filters you will want to use, mark them by clicking in the check box next to the filter name. This will add them to your Import Filters list in EndNote

Use the APA 6th - Sentence Case Output Style

According to the APA 6 Publication Manual, "In titles of books and articles in reference lists, capitalize only the first word, the first word after a colon or em dash, and proper nouns."

The default APA 6th Output Style in EndNote does not automatically do this. By downloading the APA 6th - Sentence Case Output Style you can have EndNote make the first two changes automatically. It is not programmed to automatically recognize proper nouns or acronyms.

  • From the Edit menu, choose Output Styles and then select APA 6th - Sentence Case

See the Changing Case Preferences instructions on this page for how to create a personalized list of exceptions to the sentence case rule so EndNote will not make certain names and words and acronyms lower case.

Replacing Abbreviated Journal Names imported from PubMed

You can replace abbreviated journal titles in PubMed records in EndNote with the full journal names as required in APA format by importing a list of journal titles from EndNote.

  • Select Open Terms Lists on the Tools menu
  • Select Journals Term List
  • If journals are already present, delete that list of journals that show in the Terms tab.
    • Select all journals in the list (use Crtl+A to Select All) and then click on the Delete Term button
  • Select the Lists tab
  • Select Journals (if not already selected)
  • Select the Import List button
  • Select the Medical list
  • Click on the OK button
  • The terms list (list of Medicine Journals) starts loading and tells you how many journals are in the list
    • Note: The list imported contains a large number of journals but still may not have all of the journals in your search results
  • Click on the OK button
  • Select the Terms tab.  You will now see a full list of journal names and their matching abbreviations.
  • Select Close.

Watch our quick video:  https://youtu.be/ZKXU_Nwu5pU

 

Need Help?

Need Help? Contact Academic Technologies

E-mailacadtech@pace.edu to ask a question or to make an appointment
or call: (914) -773-3664

or Enter Help Requests (Tickets) online at: help.pace.edu

Choose Information Technology, then Academic Technology, then EndNote from dropdown menu selections.

 

For for additional help using EndNote, call their Technical Support

Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 8 p.m. Eastern (GMT -5)
+1-800-336-4474, press 4

Changing Case Preferences for select words in titles

  • To prevent EndNote from modifying capitalization when using Sentence Style capitalization:
    • From the Edit menu, choose Preferences and select Change Case       
    • In the Do not change the case of the following items box, type the name or phrase as you wish it to appear in your list of references (for example, New York, so EndNote will not change it to new york)
    • Click on the Add button
    • Click on Apply
    • Click on OK

Cite While You Write

This LibGuide does not include instructions for using EndNote with Word.

To get started with EndNote's Cite While You Write feature, see section VIII of the EndNote "Guided Tour" User manuals at

http://download.endnote.com/training/Little%20Book/EndNote_X8_Guided_Tour-Windows.pdf

http://download.endnote.com/training/Little%20Book/EndNote_X8_Guided_Tour-Mac.pdf

 

 

We have encountered some issues with CWYW tools not appearing in Word. EndNote has addressed this on their Support site:

https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-X7X8-Windows-Install-Word-CWYW-Toolbar?language=en_US