It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Frome the Website: The Department of Homeland Security has a vital mission: to secure the nation from the many threats we face. This requires the dedication of more than 230,000 employees in jobs that range from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector. Our duties are wide-ranging, but our goal is clear - keeping America safe.
The DEA, a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, is the agency responsible for enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States. This site includes drug information resources, DEA's Most Wanted and drug law enforcement facts, and more.
ATF is the law enforcement agency of the U. S. Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.
NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. NIJ strives to provide objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the state and local levels.
One of seven components within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. OVC is committed to enhancing the Nation’s capacity to assist crime victims and to providing leadership in changing attitudes, policies, and practices to promote justice and healing for all victims of crime.
OJJDP, a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families.
The Secret Service safeguard's the nation's financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and protects national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites and National Special Security Events.
UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997 through a merger between the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention, UNODC operates in all regions of the world through an extensive network of field offices.
From the website: "... a multi-function criminal justice support agency with a variety of responsibilities, including collection and analysis of statewide crime data; operation of the DNA databank and criminal fingerprint files; administration of federal and state criminal justice funds; support of criminal justice-related agencies across the state; and administration of the state’s Sex Offender Registry that allows anyone to research the status of an offender."
The New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision, guided by the Departmental Mission, is responsible for the confinement and habilitation of approximately 54,700 individuals under custody held at 54 state facilities and 36,500 parolees supervised throughout seven regional offices.
From the web site: "The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system." This site contains a searchable index to the Journal of Forensic Sciences Historical Backfile, 1972-2005. The Birnbaum Library has the full-text of the journal on CD-ROM, available at the Circulation Desk.
Includes first-person stories from inmates, correctional officers, lawyers, victims, and more. Other features include a timeline (601 to present) exploring the creation of prisons as we know them today and suggestions for integrating this site into academic curriculums.
Assembled by Prof. Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School, this website contains timelines, images, evidence, commentary, and excerpts from famous trials in history, from the Trial of Socrates to the Trial of 9/11 conspirator Zacarias Moussaoui.