WS 399 Feminist Research Methods Delgado

Ebook Central (E) This is a 100% full text book database. It will likely have excellent material for this class.  You can read online, download chapters, print chapters, and download most books for a limited time. The best bet is to download PDF chapters, which you can have permanently. There are other tools in the database, as well.

Academic Search Ultimate (A) A partly full-text article and indexing database that covers all academic disciplines. Academic or scholarly journal articles, trade publication articles, conference papers, and magazine and newspaper articles, including interviews, are here. Important: Click the image if you don’t see a PDF or HTML link to an article. This is a powerful tool that searches all the other databases for the article. If the article can't be found in another database, you will be presented with an option to request it through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Try searching in the title or abstract for your terms. Put phrases between quotation marks.

Academic OneFile (A) is similar to Academic Search Ultimate and includes some of the same titles; however, it also includes journals not in ASU, so it's good to search both databases for interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary research.

Project Muse (P) is an important full-text database for research in the humanities and social sciences. It includes a lot of material published by university presses, both books and articles. This database is strong in women's and gender studies as well as LGBTQ+ material.

JSTOR (J) is a huge full-text database of academic journal articles and book chapters. The database goes back to the 19th Century but may be lacking some of the most recently published material. Scroll down on the search page to narrow by discipline or journal title. There are 27 journal titles listed under Gender Studies, for example, but you don't need to and probably shouldn't limit your research to just those journals. You can limit to more than one academic discipline.

The default search is "Content I Can Access," but consider changing this to "Everything" since ILL is available to you. I do not recommend searching by abstract in JSTOR. Most results do not have abstracts included in JSTOR.

Note that results for articles and book chapters are separated, so check both places. 

Sage Journals (S)

With a strong emphasis in the social sciences, this database contains the full-text of over 600 scholarly journals. Journal titles related to gender include Feminist Theory, Men and Masculinities, and Gender & Society.

You can also search the a subset of the database focusing on Sociology, Gender Studies, and Cultural Studies.

NOTE: Pace subscribes to MANY other databases, as well. View them by selecting the SUBJECT drowpdown menu or browse the complete list from A-Z. 

I highly recommend using the email feature in the databases once you find a good article or chapter. By doing so, you will receive all the descriptive information about the article, including the abstract and subject headings;  the PDF when available; and the citation (although you need to select the citation style you are using). If you simply download the PDF, you won't have the citation and the other useful information.

Follow this permalink (another useful feature provided by databases) to view an example of an article about Audre Lorde.  Notice the tools in the upper right:

Some databases use the term "email" but others hide the email under "share." In the above example, the arrow symbol pointing right is the share option, which includes an email option.