- JSTOR (J). A huge, full-text article and book chapter database. Last few years of publication are not included. Good especially for research in history.
- Ebook Central (E) A huge database of electronic books. Just follow the links to log in, and look at the table of contents or index to see where your topic is discussed.
- New York Times Archive 1851-2017 (N) Great place to see how an event or place was covered at the time it happened or existed. View the newspaper in PDF format, exactly as it appeared.
- New York Times Current (N) 1990-current (N) More current version of NYT lacking the PDF format of the actual newspaper.
- New York Public Library Digital Collection (N) Great choice if you need historical images of NYC
- Credo Reference subject encyclopedia database--use in addition to or instead of Wikipedia
- Academic Search Ultimate (A) A partly full-text article and indexing database that covers almost all subjects. Includes academic or scholarly journal articles, plus magazine and newspaper articles. Limit to full-text results to make it easier.
Click here for the opportunity to view databases by Subject or by Alpha by Title. It's a good idea to browse the entire list in order to start to learn what we subscribe to. Most of the articles, books, and films that the library provides access to are not free on the Internet. Also, your tuition dollars help fund the library. Overall, you'll need to become skilled in searching Google, Google Scholar, Pace University Libraries, and other websites that might be important to your major or your interests.
