Graduate-level library research in the digital age requires a specific set of skills; research on business and economics requires even more knowledge and techniques. This guide will provide you with a framework for acquiring those skills, as well as avenues to direct assistance from the library.
To find the information you need, you will have to know where to look and what words and terms to look with.
On the pages of this site you'll be able to learn how to do the following:
Not everyone learns best by reading, so there will be links throughout to some of the many instructional videos on the Pace Library YouTube channel. Look for the video icon if you'd rather absorb information visually.
It's highly recommended that you read/watch through the guide in order--then you can consult it as you need its information.
Remember: There's help available 24/7 with using the library and with the research process at asklibrary.pace.edu. You'll find links to a large amount of library information, avenues to contacting the library and making an appointment for research help, and during open hours live chat with a Pace librarian.
Library e-resources are available from anywhere, as long as you have your Pace ID and password. Many library services (such as Interlibrary Loan or hold requests for physical books) can be used via the website from anywhere as well.
But remember: The place to start all your research is the home page of the library. Our website contains the catalog for our entire collection, including physical books, and it's the access point for our subscription e-resources such as e-books, journal articles, and streaming video. If you find a resource that we subscribe to on the internet via a search engine, you won't have a chance to sign in with your Pace credentials and the site or database will not recognize you as an authorized user.
Prefer to learn by watching?
Go to our YouTube channel and take a look at Getting to Know the Pace Library Website.
The three red numbers on the image of the home page indicate your initial access points. These three will allow you to find nearly everything on the site, and provide your entryway to researching at Pace.
1. The search box is the front door to all Pace's online resources, and also to the records of our physical collection. Use the tabs across the top of the box to choose what kind of material to look for; use the search field to enter terms to look for. Quick Search casts a broad net over our entire collection, while Books & Media limits your results to physical books, e-books, and non-print media such as streaming video or microfilm. Journal Title is a handy way of determining whether we subscribe to a particular journal (this includes magazines and newspapers as well as scholarly publications) and discovering what database holds it. Databases provides an index in which to browse all the databases Pace subscribes to, as well as a drop-down subject menu to discover the best databases to use for particular academic areas.
2. On the Services page you'll find information about and links to the library services beyond checking out materials, including (but not limited to) interlibrary loan, instruction, consultations, and reserves.
3. The Help page offers myriad options for contacting the library and the librarians, as well as a way to find our many informational resources. These resources include guides to introduce you to every subject, videos to assist you in using the library, library FAQs, and more.
