Library: Media & Communication Arts: Find Articles

Search the Journal Literature

Icon of an iPad in front of a computer screen

These databases give you access to a variety of publications related to Communications and Media.

From off-campus, you will be prompted to login with your Pace username and password.

Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Find articles from academic journals and magazines in the field of communication including advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics and more.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of open-access journals and their articles. From 1990 to present, some archive content from 1892.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes original magazines covering film, mU.S.ic, broadcasting and theater in the U.S. and UK, from the early 20th century - 2000. This is a great resource for archival research into the history of the entertainment industry.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Citations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Regional, state, and local historical newspapers.
New York Times Online (Use this AFTER signing up) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Online.
New York Times Online - SIGN UP LINK - Use this FIRST! This link opens in a new window
One Time ONLY. Use this link to sign up for the New York times Online Account. Then use the second link below. If you have an existing account - Click More.
Already have a paid subscription to NYTimes.com?
You must cancel your paid subscription to take advantage of the Pacelicense: connect with a chat agent at nytimes.com or call 800-698-4637
After cancelling click "Create an Account" click "Already have an account - Log In"
Input email address and password used for your personal NYTimes.com account – this will connect your account to the Pace Academic Pass

Already have an account on NYTimes.com, but not a paid subscription? Click "Already have an account - Log In"
Input the email address and password used for your personal NYTimes.com account – this will connect your account to the Pace Academic Pass
Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Data from an annual survey of American consumers including brand and product usage, attitudes and psychographics, demographics, and consumer segmentation.
USE CHROME OR SAFARI BROWSER!

Finding Full Text of Articles

In many databases, you can check a box to limit to full-text results.

In some cases, you may see the icon. If you find an article in a research database, such as the ones on this LibGuide, and the article is not immediately available to read with a PDF or HTML link, click the "Search for Item" icon.

You may see a link to a database that has the article in full-text, or you may be prompted to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy of the article. Articles through ILL can take anywhere from one day to 2-3 weeks to obtain.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan
The ILLiad service allows users to request and track items not owned by the Pace University Library. Logon the first time using your Pace username and password, then complete the Registration Form.
Library Video Tutorials List
If you'd like additional videos on using and searching library resources, visit the searchable Library Video Tutorials page.

Google Scholar Articles

Think of Google Scholar as another research database to have in your research toolbox.

Set your Google Scholar Preferences to recognize that you are affiliated with Pace University and to access full-text articles provided by the Pace Library. Check out our Help Guide which explains this process in full.

Go to Google Scholar, and select the “Settings” link.
On the “Settings” page, go to the Library Links area
In the search box, type “Pace University” and then click the check boxes to add Pace Library options to your list of libraries

ACADEMICS AT PACE

LIFE ON CAMPUS

CAREER PREPARATION

ADMISSION & AID

Media & Communication Arts

Search the Journal Literature

Finding Full Text of Articles

Google Scholar Articles