Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Where Do I Start

OER Collections, Lumen Learning, and LoudCloud

The following is a list of OER collections comprised of resources that were created by members of the OER movement. Each website includes resources you'll need to develop materials for your own course(s). These websites may also provide materials that are sorted by subject area and/or degree programs.

We have also added the Lumen Learning and LoudCLoud platforms, while not necessarily OER because of a small fee required from the student, they are great ways to jump into OER with very little effort. Courses are already assembled and can be easily integrated into your Classes learning shell.

 

undefined

Open Textbook Collections

Open Educational Resource Repositories

OpenCourseWare 

Open Access Journals

Finding Open Images

 

undefined

undefined


With LoudCloud and Lumen students are charged a nominal fee ($25) for the courseware that embeds a customized, interactive, and mastery-based learning approach.

Open Textbook Collections

 

Academic Earth

Collection of online courses and video lectures from 25 universities, including MIT, Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Berkeley, and Princeton

AMSER (Applied Math Science Education Repository)

A portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use

Cool4Ed

Course Showcase The California Open Education Resources Council, a collaboration among U.C., CSU, and CCC faculty, is facilitating the peer review of open textbooks, which are showcased in the California Open Source Digital Library (COOL4Ed).

JSTOR Open Access Books

Access to open eBooks from the University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, UCL Press, Cornell University Press, and others.

Lumen Learning

Lumen provides open courses in a variety of high-demand subjects and disciplines. These courses are collections of high-quality OER, not necessarily traditional textbooks.  You can use them as-is or modify them to fit your instructional style and students' needs.

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT does not house content but is a collection of links to other content.

OER Consortium

The Open Education Consortium, in collaboration with MERLOT, offers a search engine on OER.

Open Textbook Library

Find OER designed to help educators understand the OER movement and find OER. The site includes links to find content, images, and videos as well as testimonials from faculty who have adopted OER.

 

Open Educational Resource Repositories

Digital Library of America

"The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."

OER Commons

Digital public library and collaboration platform, informed by the organization's pioneering efforts in knowledge management and educational innovation

Open Education Consortium

 

OpenStax College

  • In use at 48% of colleges in the U.S. 
  • These books were developed following traditional textbook publishing methods, including peer review, editorial support, and creation of ancillary content.
  • They are available in multiple formats (PDF, print on demand, on the Web) and are licensed to be revised and remixed by faculty who want to create a custom solution for a course. 
  • Supported by CNX/Rice University and foundation grants. 

OASIS

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier

SkillsCommons

The U.S. Department of Labor's Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development.

Teaching Commons

"The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more."

 

OpenCourseWare

Hopkins University Open Coursework

OCW makes JHSPH course materials used in the teaching of actual courses freely and openly available on the Web. You may share and adapt the materials on OCW under the terms of the Creative Commons license.

MIT Open Coursework

"MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity".

Open Learning Initiative

OLI is a collection of evidence-based tools and approaches to learning that are proven to boost student success and enable instructors to be more effective.

SUNY OER Services

Explore and discuss methods and approaches to finding, adopting, customizing, integrating, creating, publishing, and licensing OER

Yale Open Courses

Each course includes a full set of class lectures produced in high-quality video accompanied by such other course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Elsevier pen Access Journals 

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

SpringerOpen

Explore and discuss methods and approaches to finding, adopting, customizing, integrating, creating, publishing, and licensing OER

Finding Open Images

Creative Commons

A tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone

Morguefile

The site was created to serve as a free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work

Pixabay

Pixabay is a vibrant community of creative persons, sharing copyright-free images and videos