Library Resources for Teaching

A number of Library databases provide "persistent links" or Permalinks to full-text articles in the database.

For example, here is a link to the article "Flipping Library Information Literacy Sessions to Maximize Student Active Learning," published in Reference and User Services Quarterly.

Persistent Links are available from the following database vendors:

• EBSCOHost (including databases such as Academic Search Ultimate and CINAHL)
• ProQuest (including databases such as US Major Dailies)
• JSTOR

When users click on a persistent link to an article from a Pace Library database from off-campus, they will be prompted to enter their Pace username and password.
 
NOTE: Some database vendors, such as Gale and ACM, have persistent links to articles, but their links are missing the code that is necessary to prompt the user to enter their Pace username and password.

• The Library has created a widget to assist you in creating Persistent Links that do have this code included - the use of this extra code is necessary to make these persistent links work from off-campus.
• To use the widget, copy the Persistent Link or Document URL from within the database, then paste it into the Persistent Link Builder.
• The Persistent Link Builder will create and display the new link (which will include the extra code), which you then copy and paste into a Discussion Board thread, course content, or an e-mail message.

Watch the video below which demonstrates how to find persistent links, and how to use the Persistent Link Builder: 

For help with this, contact Sarah Burns Feyl at sburnsfeyl@pace.edu