Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pace Honors: Library Guide

This guide is for Pace Honors students, and includes more information for Evaluating Resources, Connect NY & ILL, Tracking & Organizing Citations, and MLA/APA.

Pace Library Catalog & Quick Search

The Pace Library Catalog and our Quick Search tool allow you to search across the majority of our resources.

The Library Catalog is where you can search for ebooks, books, and media.

This is a screenshot  that  highlights the "books and media" tab from the library.pace.edu landing page.

The Quick Search tool searches across nearly 70% of our databases holdings, as well as our books, ebooks and media.

This screen shot highlights the Quick Search tab from library.pace.edu

Research Guides: Subject Specific Resources

Research Guides can help you find more information on the resources and services available through the library on a specific topic. They have been created, and are maintained by the librarians at Pace Libraries.

Below is a list of some of our research guides that are recommended for the Pace Honors Students. It is not a definitive list, just a good place to start your research!

Theater Arts / Performing Arts / Film:

Economics / Economic Theory / Business

Subject Specific Databases

The Library subscribes to nearly 200 hundred databases. To browse and search databases organized by subject, select "Databases" from the library homepage and select a subject from the drop down menu:

A screenshot of the databases tab from library.pace.edu. The databases tab is highlighted and the subject drop-down menu is highlighted.

Searching for Journals

Looking for scholarly journals in your discipline? Pace Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases to help you find articles, but you can also search by Journal Title and by Discipline to see where we have access to the materials that you need:

Searching by journal title:

From the library.pace.edu, use the Journals tab to search by journal title:

This is a screenshot of the journal title tab from the library.pace.edu website.

You can also see what journals we subscribe to by discipline:

This is a screenshot from the library.pace.edu website where the related link to "Journals by Discipline" is highlighted

Subject Headings, Keywords, & using AND/OR/NOT

Subject Terms and/or Headings are terms that are used to describe the content of an item. Searching by subject will bring you materials that are explicitly about that topic. You can use subject terms to view items that have also been "tagged" as being about a particular topic. Keep in mind, that subject terms and/or headings  are pre-selected. When you're starting your research try using both broad and specific terms - this will help you discover different subjects that you can also search by.

 

A Keyword Search will search for any time a word or phrase is mentioned in the description and/or record of an item. Starting your research with a keyword search can help you find more relevant subject terms, which can help you narrow (or expand) your search results.

Using AND, OR, or NOT  to combine your search terms, search for similar terms, or exclude terms can help you discover more relevant information on your topic:

Use "AND" to combine terms:  

(women AND computer science)

Use "OR" to use similar terms:  

(woman OR women)

Use "NOT" to use exclude terms:  

(computer science NOT software)