What is a Database?
What is a database and how do they differ from Google? The video and graphic below can help define what they are what sources might be found there.
(Long description of the infographic for accessibility)
Credit to the University of Oregon Library for creating this image.
Video: Selecting & Searching a Database for Articles
One of the best places to locate scholarly/academic, newspaper, or magazine articles is within library databases. These are subscription resources that the library pays for in order to receive access to the content.
Library databases function like search engines in that you enter your keywords and receive results. But they are also like streaming services in that they are not free (like most search engines) and each contain unique information, sometimes specific to certain subject areas, while others may be more generalized and include many topic areas. Think Netflix or Hulu (General) vs. BritBox (British TV) or CrunchRoll (Anime).
Selecting a Database & Locating an Article
Databases to Start Your Research
Some databases are specific to certain subjects while others provide information on many areas.
Not sure where to start? Try using one of these general databases:
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowArticles from 1980 to now. From arts to science to technology
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia, dictionary, articles. Also Content available in spanish and those learning english or spanish.
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of reference ebooks on a variety of topics. A good starting resource for research sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
Finding a Full Text Article
Never pay for a research article! How to find full text articles
Many databases provide access to both full-text articles and article summaries, or abstracts.
One option is to select the "Full Text" option in the database limiters to ensure that your results are only full articles. If we have full-text access, you will see the HTML and/or PDF icons for you to click on.
No Full-Text: Use Inter-Library Loan
If there is no HTML or PDF link, or if you see a 
icon, you can use our Inter-Library Loan service to request a copy of the article.
When you click on from within the database, you be taken to a page to select your campus to access our ILLIAD inter-library loan request form.
Once you select one of the links, a new window will pop up with a pre-filled request form.
Review the information and select "Submit Request" at the bottom of the page. You will receive a confirmation and within a few days, you should receive an email with a copy of the article or information on why it may not be available.
"What if I found an article on Google?"
If you found an article in a Library database that does not have a button, you can visit the Inter-Library Loan link on the library homepage to fill out a form and place a request.
If you found an article on Google but it is behind a paywall (meaning it asks you to become a subscriber to see it), you can use our Journal Title tab to see if we have access in our databases. The video below will explain that process.