How to Use QuickSearch
Quicksearch is our centralized search box on the Pace Library homepage which allows you to enter your search terms and receive search results that include a variety of source types like books, eBooks, articles, and videos.
Using QuickSearch can be most valuable when:
- You are beginning research and want to see what information is available without selecting a specific database
- You would like to see a variety of source types in one set of results
- You'd like to search many databases at one time (QuickSearch does not search ALL Pace databases, but a selected variety.)
Using QuickSearch Video
In the tabbed box below, you will find an example of a basic search. For more details on using this tool, visit our Navigating QuickSearch Research Guide.
The Basics of QuickSearch
Performing a search in QuickSearch is similar to using a search engine - type in your keywords and click "Search".
By using AND to connect your key terms, and putting keyword phrases with more than one word in quotation marks (i.e. "key terms"), your search results will be more specific to your search terms.
NOTE: Boolean Operators like AND, OR and NOT must be in capital letters. Learn more about using Operators in the Advanced Search tab.
On your results page, there are a few features to notice first when deciding what results are most relevant to you:
1. Resource Type: QuickSearch will provide results of various source types – books, ebooks, articles, and videos. To limit to certain types, check the appropriate box. For example, check the box for "Book" to see only a combination of books and eBooks.
2. Viewing a Record: To view each record, click on the title of the item. Here you will see more information such as longer summaries, items locations, and access links.
3. About the Record: A summary provides details to determine relevance. Click “Show More” to see the whole summary. Above the summary, you can also see what type of source it is whether that is a book, ebook, etc.
4. Databases: Not all of the Pace Library databases are available in QuickSearch. However, you can explore recommended sources in these databases in these links.
On the left side of your results page, there is a set of filters to narrow down your results. The initial search results will show records from Pace Library’s Beekman, Mortola, and Law Library holdings and sort by Best Match.
Below is the text that describes the filters in the search results from the previous tab:
(1) Group Related Editions
If you switch ON the "Group Related Editions" option, your search results will reload and group different editions of the same sources into one record. For example, if there are multiple copies of “Frankenstein” from different publishers and publication dates, you will see them both under the same item rather than multiple items.
(2) Held by My Library
By default, your search will include results from Pace Library’s Beekman, Mortola, and Law Library holdings. You can change which location to see results from by checking or unchecking the boxes. By checking “Libraries Worldwide”, you will be adding records to your results that are not available at Pace by can be acquired through Inter-Library loan.
(3) Publication Year
Limit results by publication year by clicking the link for a year range or entering a custom range in the boxes.
(4) Resource Type
To limit your results by resource type, check of the boxes next to your desired format. In QuickSearch, you may see results in the form of books, eBooks, articles, videos, and more. Your search results will automatically reload each time you check or uncheck a box.
(5) Content Type
Limit your search results to groups like Full Text, Peer Reviewed, or Open Access. These options may differ depending on your search results.
(6) Filter by Subject
For books only, you have the option to narrow your search by checking the boxes next to relevant subject areas. For example, if you are researching nursing burnout and want to focus on a certain specialty, you can check the box for Surgery.
(7) Databases
QuickSearch is configured to bring back results from specific Pace Library databases. You can check off boxes for specific databases to limit to those results to view and sort through.
(8) Language
If results in a language other than English are available, you can check the boxes here to include or exclude them from your results.
(9) Author/Creator
Limit results by author if you are interested in a certain person or organization’s work.