Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 201: Research Introduction, Annotated Bibliography & Literature Review (PLV)

Researching Pace Library Resources

White icons show an arrow pointing from a computer to a piece of paper, a book and video

Both the Internet and the Pace Library provide access to many reliable and scholarly sources suitable for your literature review. Below you will find information on locating resources such as:

  • Scholarly articles
  • Books & Streaming media
  • Inter-Library Loan
  • Google Scholar

Scholarly Articles: Search the Databases

Pace Library Databases

The following are general databases that provide results from many discipline areas. You might see sources on algorithms, alongside education, and literary criticism. They can be a starting place for your research. 

Searching Pace Databases

See the slides below on basic searching for books, media and database articles. For additional videos on searching Pace resources, visit our Library Tutorials page: https://libguides.pace.edu/videos

Interlibrary Loan

Inter-Library loan; a page with an arrow moving towards a computer

When you find an article in a research database and it is not immediately available, use the Search for Item button to search Pace's periodical holdings (print and electronic). If you are told to use Pace's Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) service to request an article, follow the link.

1) Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain. 

2) Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available via Interlibrary Loan and can be picked up at your home campus Library.

Google Scholar

Think of Google Scholar as another research database to have in your research toolbox.

Set your Google Scholar Preferences to recognize that you are affiliated with Pace University and to access full-text articles provided by the Pace Library. Check out our Help Guide which explains this process in full.

  1. Go to Google Scholar, and select the “Settings” link.
  2. On the “Settings” page, go to the Library Links area
  3. In the search box, type “Pace University” and then click the check boxes to add Pace Library options to your list of libraries
Google Scholar Search