Library: Library Assessment Plan: ENG Composition

ENG Composition

Instruction Librarians facilitate course-integrated instruction for multiple sections of the Core English sequence: ENG 110, ENG 120 and ENG 201 each semester, including January and Summer sessions. Student learning outcomes in the English Core Sequence courses are defined at the broadest level by the English departments; instruction sessions are requested by individual instructors, I.S. Team members then work with those instructors to identify and facilitate instruction for specific Information Literacy learning objectives related to their particular class and assignment. Instruction for the ENG classes takes place in-person, on Zoom, and via asynchronous methods. Sessions and instructional materials are designed to encourage active learning with hands-on and interactive activities, giving students the opportunity to use online research tools. The nature of locating, evaluating and using information continues to evolve, with recent developments in generative AI now coming into play, which have become part of our discussions with students during our sessions. Librarians have begun facilitating instruction sessions on generative AI, in which students discuss possible class policies, as well as ethical use of generative AI in academic work.

NOTE: The below learning objectives are samples from various ENG courses with which the I.S. Team has worked. They are from class syllabi, research assignment guidelines, and Instruction librarian lesson plans. Course, session or class learning objectives may not match exactly to the six learning outcomes listed on the Instructional Services main page, but all can be mapped back to these overarching learning outcomes.

It is important to note, Information Literacy and research skills are also assessed in the English and Composition departments.

ENG 110

	ENG 110
Student Learning Outcomes	Navigate the library’s general resources, specifically our large-scale discovery tool, the library catalog and general reference databases, to discover information relevant to course assignments. Identify keywords on a research topic in order to perform successful information searches. Discover additional search terms in order to perform more targeted searches. Determine the audience and purpose for joining the rhetorical conversation around their topic. Cite sources in MLA format both in-text and on a reference page.
Type of Assessment	Worksheet exercises during session
Assessment Description	Students locate an editorial or opinion piece and submit correct MLA citations for sources found.
Responsibility	Head of Teaching and Learning Services
Results Distribution	University Librarian, Head of Library Assessment, Head of Teaching & Learning Services
Assessment Schedule	End of Spring semesters
Last Assessment Occurred	Spring 2024
Action Taken Based on Assessment Data	Lesson plan was revised in Fall 2024 to include more information on what an editorial / opinion piece is, so that students have more success in locating and recognizing these types of sources. To be implemented Fall 2024 and Spring 2025.

ENG 120

	ENG 120
Student Learning Outcomes	Distinguish between source types (including but not limited to primary, secondary, popular, and scholarly). Evaluate and select sources with regard to their general characteristics (topic relevance, currency, authority, bias, etc.) and their appropriateness for a particular task/assignment. Identify a discourse community, analyze an artifact, and how that artifact represents their community. Locate (2) sources - one from Google and one from Quick Search - which provide context to their analysis. Articulate why each source was selected and how it could be integrated into their paper. Cite sources appropriately using MLA style.
Types of Assessment	Asynchronous worksheet exercise with rubric; worksheet exercise during in-person session; group work on Padlet
Assessment Description	Asynchronous research worksheet: Students are asked to find a source on Google and find an academic source using the Academic Search Ultimate database. Results are reviewed using a rubric. In-person research worksheet: Students are asked to properly use keywords and Boolean operators to create full search queries appropriate to their topic and locate secondary sources relevant to their topic. Padlet Group Exercise on Evaluating Types of Sources: Students work in groups or pairs to evaluate a variety of source types and are asked to describe and identify the type of source assigned to their group.
Responsibility	Head of Teaching and Learning Services
Results Distribution	University Librarian, Head of Library Assessment, Head of Teaching & Learning Services
Assessment Schedule	End of Spring semesters
Last Assessment Occurred	Spring 2024
Action Taken Based on Assessment Data

ENG 201

	ENG 201
Student Learning Outcomes	Identify and select appropriate and relevant databases or search tools for the academic assignment at hand, and be able to locate subject specific materials including databases and individual journals by titles. Demonstrate best practices in searching (including but not limited to filtering tools and Boolean searching) relevant library databases and web search engines. Dismantle [break down] their research question into components in order to select appropriate keywords for searching. Identify the most relevant library resources for their discipline-specific research question. Search strategically for at least 2 sources to include in their literature review. Cite information sources appropriately, keeping with the norms of scholarly writing or presentation, and have a firm understanding of why careful citation practice is necessary and how to avoid plagiarism.
Type of Assessment	Worksheet exercise for asynchronous classes; worksheet exercise for in-person session; quizzes combined with annotated bibliography
Assessment Description	*Worksheet exercises for asynchronous classes:* Class 1: Students are asked to locate a scholarly journal article and provide a correct citation for the article. Class 2: Students are asked to locate a website they might use in their final paper and they are asked to find a secondary source using the Quick Search tool. For both items students are asked to provide a correct citation. Class 3: Students are asked to locate a current scholarly article. *Worksheet exercise for in-person session:* Students are asked to locate a scholarly article from one of the Pace Library’s databases. Quizzes combined with annotated bibliography: Students complete four multiple choice quizzes. For the annotated bibliography, students are asked to locate at least 10 scholarly sources and cite them correctly.
Responsibility	Head of Teaching and Learning Services
Results Distribution	University Librarian, Head of Library Assessment, Head of Teaching & Learning Services
Assessment Schedule	End of Spring semesters
Last Assessment Occurred	Spring 2024
Action Taken Based on Assessment Data	ENG 201 library instruction activities and assessments appear to be working well, as learning outcomes are being met in most every case.