The library utilizes a collaborative approach regarding database selection. While library administrators retain final budget authority, the selection process involves input from several key groups:
- The Supervising Librarian for Electronic Resources implements policies and guidance for e-resource acquisition.
- The Digital Resource Management Team (DREAM Team) provides leadership. Chaired by the Supervising Librarian for Electronic Resources, this cross-functional group of librarians from both campuses coordinates trials, assessments, and licensing negotiations for electronic resources.
- Librarians evaluate options and make recommendations for their assigned disciplinary areas.
By leveraging the expertise of the library team members, we aim to build dynamic, user-centered collections across formats. Our selectors stay attuned to emerging needs and trends to ensure our resources support the university’s teaching, research, and learning goals.
Electronic resources are evaluated concerning:
- Scope, subject coverage, uniqueness of material, period, and frequency of update
- Ease of use, search interface, quality of indexing, and other value-added features
- Projected size of user population based on courses to be served
- Product platform independence unless no other viable option exists
- Vendor stability and reliability, availability of technical support, quality, and timely delivery of enhancements
- Sustainable costs, given the level of the electronic resources budget
Database Trials
The Supervising Librarian for Electronic Resources coordinates trials for new database products based on librarian recommendations, patron requests, alignment with programs offered, and collection gaps. During trials, usage, content, searchability, pricing, and platform experience are assessed using feedback surveys completed by patrons and library staff. Decision-making procedures for new acquisitions involve input from subject selection librarians, department chairs, faculty, and collection managers.
Evaluating Electronic Resources
The library regularly reviews electronic resource subscriptions to ensure continued alignment with patron needs and accessibility standards. Usage statistics, platform functionality, overlap with alternative collections, and cost per use are analyzed when renewal decisions are made. The goal is to provide the highest quality and most cost-effective databases and ebook packages relevant to the curriculum and accessible to students and faculty.